Senator Portantino Celebrates 25th Senate District Women of Distinction in Honor of Women’s History

In honor of Women’s History Month, Senator Anthony J. Portantino (D – Burbank) hosted the 25th Senate District Women of Distinction Awards Reception on Sunday, March 12 in Pasadena. The Senator recognized 15 accomplished women from across the Senate District who have positively contributed to their communities and the State of California.  The honorees reside or work in Glendale, Pasadena, Burbank, Claremont, La Crescenta, Los Angeles, and La Verne and have exemplified and extended volunteerism, philanthropy, and leadership throughout all of the communities in our district.
The California State Legislature first recognized March as Women’s History Month in 1987 and has since continued the tradition. Each year, members of the State Legislature recognize exceptional women in their district with a celebration commemorating their efforts.
“I am proud to recognize 15 remarkable women who are dedicated to serving our communities with distinction,” stated Senator Portantino. “The breath of their successful efforts are reflected in countless individuals they have helped and inspired.  They are all deserving of this special recognition and I am thankful to be in a position to shine a light on them and the difference they make for the 25th Senate District.”

Dr. Devorah Lieberman, La Verne
Dr. Devorah Lieberman is the 18th President of the University of La Verne. During her tenure, she has raised $128 million in the largest comprehensive campaign in institutional history, significantly increased funding for student scholarships and expanded the international student population. President Lieberman has increased the number of named colleges, endowed deans, and endowed faculty positions and significantly increased the institutional endowment. She is currently Chair-Elect of the New American Colleges & Universities (NAC&U), and serves on the Boards of the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities (CUMU), the Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities (AICCU). President Lieberman has broadly published books and articles in higher education literature on the topics of intercultural communication, faculty development, diversity, and institutional transformation. Among the numerous awards she has received is the Ellis Island Award.

Also honored:

Vannia De La Cuba, Pasadena 
Dr. G. Gabrielle Starr, Claremont    
Dr. Hilarie Dyson, Pasadena
Dr. Frieda Jordan, Glendale 
Edith M. Fuentes, Glendale
Hasmik Keyribarian, Glendale
Joanna Linkchorst, La Crescenta
Juliana Serrano, Pasadena 
Carmenita Helligar, Burbank
Janet Kim, Los Angeles 
Catherine Kim, Los Angeles
Celeste Voce, Los Angeles 
Suzanne Weerts, Burbank
Taleen Khatchadourian, Glendale

La Verne Chamber of Commerce

2332 D Street, Unit E

La Verne, CA 91750

(909) 593-5265

Sign up for our eNewsletter

Get Connected